Out there

Weird Tales Magazine
Yes, this post is in fact, a little bit weird and is about weird ideas, so what better way to express this than through a picture that has the word "weird" on the title? .... yeah, I didn't have that much time to search for a more appropriate image. Sue me.

Creating games from scratch is difficult. At least that much we all know. But to make matters worse, just imagine trying to design a game in a very unorthodox way, something outside of the box, something that is not entirely based upon all the common game-making knowledge we’ve accumulated in the past 40 years. Can you imagine that? Because I barely can. And in that imaginary scenario, I see that it’s not likely for the products of that process to be of quality. Meaning that the final product will probably be less than stellar unless the designer is some kind of genius (or has spent a tremendous amount of time refining that process, but I’ll get to that later).

Now, I’m not a genius, so I’ve been refusing to do a lot of the ideas that came to my head in the past few years, just because I couldn’t think of a way to make them “work”. That is to say, work in a way that we all expect a game to work. Because at the end of the day, if the player doesn’t understand what the game is trying to do, then he’ll just label the game as being sub-par.

With all that being said, I think it’s time for me to give those strange ideas a try. Not a lot of people will like the results of those ideas, at least not at first. Most people will probably just become confused and disregard the game as if it were just a piece of broken software. But in order to produce something of quality with these ideas, I need to get my hands dirty first.

I could probably wait until someone else produces a game that is similar to what I intend to do and then proceed to learn as much as I can from that product, but that no longer seems like a feasible solution. I’m tired of waiting for other people to do similar stuff to what I’m thinking about, so I’ve decided that I shouldn’t wait any longer.

Now, this doesn’t mean that I’ll be making more games than I usually do or anything of the sort. Hell, right now I should be studying for the two finals I have in a few days. But what I’m saying is that … well, the next game you see from me might actually be something very weird.

And player-driven.

Image respectfully taken from here.

One thought on “Out there

  1. Pingback: Link Compilation volumen 3.14265 « Indigo Static

Leave a Reply

