It’s been two years already?

domo-kun egg hatched papercraft
*Wipes tear from cheek* They grow up so fast. Wait, that's not a bird. At least I don't think it's a bird... do birds have teeth?

So… yeah, I just checked and it has been exactly two years since I started this blog, which feels kind of wrong since in internet years that’s like a century. With only 128 posts, 153 legitimate comments and 1,119 spam comments I can safely say that this blog doesn’t feel as old as it is.

Though when I look back at some of my early posts, I can’t help but cringe at how badly written they were (and when I remember how long they took me to write, I die a little inside). Of course, it was to be expected given that at the time I wasn’t so used to writing in this language. Reading? Oh hell yes, practically everything I read about this medium was in full blown english, but trust me, reading and writing are two wholly different activities. I know. From experience. I have empirical data to support that fact: In one activity you need to use the keyboard, but on the other one you don’t!

*Ahem*

Where was I? Oh, right, the two year anniversary. It’s not like I planned anything to say here, (and yes, it shows, thank you for pointing that out. Jerk.) but I think I can come up with a few things to say right now:

  • First of all, a big thank to all the readers that decided to follow this blog. Yes, both of you! I can’t express my gratitude enough, so I won’t (how’s that for the ultimate “thank you”?).
  • The game that was based on 1984 that I sort of “announced” here to be ready by march 20th… yeah, that didn’t happen. But I’m still working on it! The illustrator is having difficulties in finding the time to pour into the project but we’re getting there. Slowly, but surely.
  • The Spelunky journal series is officially cancelled unless someone asks for a new installment. I frankly can’t find the inspiration to write more about it and with no motivation whatsoever I’d prefer to just let it die than to drive it into the ground.
  • I’m continually changing my design style from game to game. Every single tentative game design document that I’ve written so far has a different approach to it, and I have to say that I find that curious. I guess that I haven’t found “my style” yet, but I think that I just design whatever sounds interesting at the time, be it from a mechanical or … philosophical point of view (sorry, I couldn’t come up with a less pretentious way to say it).
  • On top of that, I’m continuing to learn how to make games in flash using flixel, so don’t be surprised if some new little project pops up in the experiments section. Though I won’t promise anything.
  • Oh, and that reminds me, I’ve changed a few things there in that section. I didn’t realize it until a few days ago, but it turns out that rapidshare had deleted my files. Oh well, now they’re up again, fully functioning and one of the so-called experiments now has a less cringe-wrothy name.

Aaaaaand I think that’s about it. Man, it’s been a long time since I did one of these information dumps. Feels good to just clarify a bunch of things that may still be up in the air due to promises or hints I made in the last couple of months, even if nobody cares.

As always, image taken from flickr, if I just violated any copyright law, please tell me and I’ll take it out.

4 thoughts on “It’s been two years already?

  1. Congratulations!

    My own blog had an anniversary some few months ago, too, although it turned four and not two. But it just recently that I decided to almost only write about games; before it was just a bunch of things that interested me.

    I can’t remember how I found your blog, but I must say that I appreciate what you write. Keep up the good work.

    Oh, and cool idea about 1984. I just read it two months ago and thought it would be cool (but hard) to make a game based on it, maybe a little similar to the BioShock games.

    Greetings from Denmark šŸ™‚

  2. Diego Doumecq

    Four years? Way to steal my thunder dude!
    Heh, just kidding. Congratulations on lasting for two internet centuries. I’ve visited your blog a couple of times in the past but … well, I can’t read a single thing.

  3. Hehe, that’s okay. Maybe you can use Google Translate (or just look at the pretty pictures) šŸ˜›

    I am thinking about writing in English, but since I am not very good at it, I am afraid that I will loose a lot of my way of expressing myself.

  4. Diego Doumecq

    Hahaha, yeah, I went through that. Though for me at least it wasn’t a problem of expressing myself, but rather a problem of finding the right words to communicate what I was trying to say. Eventually I’d find the right word, sure, but it took me 10 times longer to write a post in english than it would normally take to write it in spanish.

    Two years down the line, I can safely say that that’s no longer a problem. English has become a natural second language for me, at least in written form. Of course, you CAN tell that it’s not my main language, but as long as what I’m trying to say gets through I don’t have a problem with that.

Leave a Reply

