A Silent Hill sequel that is… good?

Silent Hill: Shattered Memories
Expected and unexpected at the same time.

Personally, I don’t put much weight on reviews, but seeing such praise for a game that was expected to be par for the course is refreshing to say the least. Especially when said game ditches guns in favor of running from monsters. And employs symbolism through mechanics to great effect. And actively considers the player’s input all the time (the game basically analyzes your behaviour and what you look at and then acts according to that information).

Just in case I lost some of you there, I’m talking about the re-imagining of the Silent Hill franchise: Silent Hill: Shattered Memories, available for Wii, PSP and PS2. The release dates, if you are curious, are here.

Why do I bother to post about this? Well, the last time I saw a game that tickled my fancy with a lot of promises was Alone in the Dark, and we all know how that game turned out

[Box-art taken from here]

Leave a comment