Link Compilation vol. 2

If this becomes a scheduled series of posts, I'll have to get a picture to use in all of them. I definitely ain't going to get a new picture for each new volume.
If this becomes a scheduled series of posts, I'll have to get a default picture to use in all of them. I definitely ain't going to get a new picture for each new volume since there are not enough pictures of chain links on Google Images.

And here we have another link compilation. I excuse this by saying I’ve been, like, really busy: first week of my fourth year at the university, finishing a tech demo of a cockpit game and on top of that recovering from a certain event that I’d rather forget (see previous post).

  • A handy guide on how to use the sniper rifle on Killzone 2. You may need to go to the hospital/circus if you don’t notice anything weird.
  • Infamous’ karma system revealed. By the looks of it, it’s yet another typical game offering good or evil decisions without any kind of finesse or gray spots (eat the babie’s face or give him a lollipop). The writing is not that bad, but it rubs me the wrong way, shoving every choice in my face with a special cutscene before every decision. I doubt it, but if it turns out to be a great game I’ll happily eat the following words: This game is going to be run of the mill at best and absolute crap at worst.
  • EVIL ACTION: EVIL ACT REINFORCES YOUR EEEEEVIL REPUTATION. And you know what scares me? In the comment’s section there’s an awful lot of people psyched about the game.
  • Tim Schafer is finally the star of an adventure game. He needs your help to find some jokes to use at the GDC since, you know, he’s hosting it and people are there to hear jokes (or so I was told). It has all the great and horrible qualities of a typical graphic adventure from the 90’s, and we wouldn’t want it any other way. And by “we” I mean “you people”. (Don’t even get me started on what I’d do differently)
  • “When you look into the mirror, what do you see… a friend? An enemy? Or perhaps both? Do you have what it takes to see your world from a different view? This is the essence of Reflection, a game that will test your mind and your reflexes in a way that you have never experienced before.” This indie game for the DS called Reflection is one of the few games that takes real advantage of the 2 screens. Best of all? It has a PC Demo (27MB). A demo that controls best with an Xbox360 controller. Yep, that’s not confusing at all.
  • The Path continues to be in blogger’s minds. I continue to long for a demo =(
  • Retail was responsible for between 2 and 3% of the revenue of World of Goo. I can’t help but smile and yet I’m not sure if I should be smiling.
  • Sims 3: No Online Authentication! Just regular CD-key DRM! It’s not ideal but at least it’s a huge step forward. Or in other words, furious backpedaling.
  • OnLive: Play Crysis in your Pentium 3! Some people are excited, others are underwhelmed, others point out that previous projects like these have been tried before and failed. Me? I say that the latency/lag is inevitable, no matter how advanced their tech is, so only a few games are going to be actually playable (no quick-time events, boy is that going to hurt them). Even without considering the latency, I say that the server load is going to be so freaking huge that they’ll go out of business if they don’t charge a hefty subscription fee (at least when starting, unless someone like microsoft backs them up with their bottom-less pockets, but I don’t see that happening). And considering that OnLive is supposedly going to be in the same category as the second-hand market and the renting business, it appears that it’ll be the most expensive option out there, with a worse image quality, annoying latency and a limited library. Let me think. Mmmhhh, no, this ain’t gonna work, at least not under these terms. The idea is neat though, maybe in a decade we’ll be able to implement it.

I like this format, it takes only a few minutes to assemble and I can talk about some important subjects however briefly I like. It may not attract as many readers to the blog, given that google gives a lot more importance to entry’s titles (for example, “infamous is garbage” gets me more traffic than “link compilation”) but trying to sum up everything I mention would result in hilariously long titles. Which is not that bad of an idea actually.

2 thoughts on “Link Compilation vol. 2

  1. haha well that’s the PC prototype, rather than a demo, built in Torque 3D, built by the two creators of Reflection. And for some reason it was easier to use a 360 controller to build and play the prototype. We’re now on the 3rd and final version of Reflection–it’s all about the iterations.

    Thanks for featuring us on your link compilation!

    -Hersh
    Producer, Reflection

  2. Diego Doumecq

    Ah, glad to know you guys are making progress. And thank you for commenting on my link compilation! If I had a DS I would be eagerly awaiting the release =)

Leave a Reply

