The adventure of learning

I took some time off and wrote this little entry for the round table. Hope you enjoy it. Feel free to read slower so it seems longer than it actually is*.

Even though I was born fairly recently (that is, 20 years ago), with the game industry already in it’s adolescense I never played that much as a kid. The cartoons on the TV were my mayor pastime and I didn’t do much else (apart form normal things like going to school, playing with “action figures” and you know, eating and bodily functions).

Hello Mr. Headache.
Hello Mr. Headache.

I played videogames now and then on my computer, like commander keen or some other ones I can’t even remember the names of. Nothing about those got me really excited. But one day I got to visit my dad at work. In that visit I was running all over the place asking about every little thing I got my beady eyes on, when suddenly, in some computer I noticed a Doom icon on the desktop. Holy cow, I had heard of the game before but I had never seen it. Needless to say I was stuck to that computer as long as I could, fascinated by the impressive graphics and movement. But, there was one thing about it that turned me off, the graphics were nice, the gameplay was solid but… it was headache inducing, too fast paced, too in your face (at least for my little mind at the time).
In the next visit I was more entranced with MS Paint, drawing houses and stick figures and the like, leaving Doom and it’s headache inducing gameplay to the side.

Everytime I see this I can't stop smiling.
Everytime I see this I can't stop smiling

Up until 11 years old I was never that interested in interactive media. I suppose it has more to do with the incredibly punishing gameplay mentality of the time than with my personality, but I digress. It wasn’t until I got my little greasy hands on Monkey Island 2 that I got hooked on videogames. There was no possible way to loose, I was in heaven. I could patiently click everywhere to get a funny comment, experiment with everything and all at my own pace. There was no sign at any kind of the “twitch gaming” I despised. If I remember correctly it took me two years to finish it, not because of my pace, but because of an incredibly bad designed puzzle at the end of the game (seriously, I needed to do two more things before it finished). Despite that, I loved the living crap out of it.

Its got a million and one uses!
It's got a million and one uses!

If it weren’t for adventure games I never would have gained an interest in videogames. With their no death design they taught me to persevere, to never give up and to be more patient when something doesn’t go the way I wanted. But more importantly, they taught me to think before I act. It was the best strategy to beat those games. Experiment on everything and when I got stuck I sat back and then thought about the situation and how I could resolve it. It was magical when I came up with the solution, went running to the computer, tested my theory and it worked. It freaking worked. It felt like I was an evil genius screaming IT’S ALIVE moments after the lightning brought to life my monstrosity made of rubber chickens with pulleys in the middle.

Please visit the Round Table’s Main Hall for links to all entries.

*Although some people say size doesn’t matter and that the only important part is the writting skills involved, so… yeah, read it slowly.

2 thoughts on “The adventure of learning

  1. Pingback: August ‘08 Round Table — Updated 08/14 : Man Bytes Blog

Leave a Reply

