• Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 90 other followers

Playing with wires

Greetings people! I have great news to share! Many months have passed since the last time I uploaded something to this blog of mine. So hey, I thought “You know what? I have something to upload now!”. And so it begins the great tale of …

Yeah, I’ll stop now.

Sorry about that.

So… what I was trying to say was that I have an ongoing project that I’d like to share with you my dear readers. It’s nowhere near finished, heavens no, but I think I’m at a point where there are a sufficient amount of mechanics to get a sense of how the game works.

But let me warn you first: There’s no tutorial, no objective, no consequences and of course all the graphics are crude “programming art”. So, basically it’s just a small sandbox to play around with.

Having said that, here’s the sandbox itself:

Wires sanbox screenshot

Explosions! Wires! A protagonist! NPCs! Buttons! Blocks! Traps! A squiggly grey thingy!

Download link:

  • Download here! Sadly, it’s made with Game Maker 8.1, so it only works on windows platforms.

Controls:

  • Enter key restarts the sandbox.
  • Mouse over to select.
  • Left click + drag to operate wires (create and/or move) and to move the blue circle.
  • Right click to cancel wire operations and to delete wires themselves.

Game elements:

  • Circles represent characters. The blue circle is the one you can control and move around, while the green ones will be enemies at some point in the future (right now they don’t do much).
  • The grey blocks and the squiggly thingy are impassable walls.
  • The cylinders are buttons that can be pressed by characters.
  • The holes are actually spike traps. They don’t do much apart from being able to be activated/deactivated.
  • And finally, the wires.

Oh, the wires. Let me tell you this, if you enjoy discovering how a mechanic works, then stop reading right now and go play the damn thing.

Alright?

Good.

The wires, as you might expect, are the most important element in the sandbox. By connecting a button to a trap you can activate said trap by making the blue circle go through the button. That’s fairly simple, but then things can get more interesting. For instance, you might connect two traps in a row! Exciting, I know. But seriously, things get a little more complicated once you figure out that there’s no limitation to the wires (apart from distance … and even that has a loophole) and on top of that, characters can be connected to wires, even the blue little guy can. What happens when a character is sent a signal from a button? Well, that screenshot might give you a clue.

And that’s about it for now. I know that it doesn’t seem like much, but this simple sandbox took me quite a while to develop, certainly more than I expected (something like 6 days of work if I recall correctly).

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

